The 88th Academy Awards could see a total of 16 animated films submitted for the Animated Feature Film category.

It is a requirement that submitted features must fulfil the theatrical release requirements and comply with all of the category’s other qualifying rules before they can advance in the voting process. Some of the films have not yet had their required Los Angeles qualifying run.

A total of eight eligible animated features must be theatrically released in Los Angeles County within the calendar year for this category to be activated.  If there are 16 or more animated features films eligible, a max of five motion pictures may be nominated.

Of course the films could qualify for Academy Awards in other categories such as Best Picture, providing they meet the relevant requirements.

So far the films are:

  • Anomalisa
  • The Boy and the Beast
  • Body and the World
  • The Good Dinosaur
  • Home
  • Hotel Transylvanie 2
  • Inside Out
  • Kahlil Gibran’s The Prophet
  • The Laws of the Universe – Part 0
  • Minions
  • Moomins on the Riviera
  • The Peanuts Movie
  • Regular Show: The Movie
  • The SpongeBob Movie: Sponge out of Water
  • When Marnie Was There



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s